06-30-2012 – Reading List Updated

I updated the reading list with two books I recently finished. I’ve also since turned it into its own page at the top for easy access. I’ll keep doing this, and list the books I read as I add to it, so you don’t have to skim it for every little change I’ve made.

 

Hyperion – Dan Simmons
Very good book. It is more or less Canterbury Tales in space. Dan Simmons tells multiple stories, each with their own styles and it truly feels like multiple writers telling their own stories. I don’t know where to even begin to describe the story. But I’ll try. Seven pilgrims travel to the planet Hyperion to meet a creature that alters time and space and destiny, all while a war for the planet and the fate of all human life is about to break out. They tell their stories to each other to try to figure out the significance of why they were chosen to meet The Shrike (said time altering creature).

Speaker for the Dead – Orson Scott Card
The sequel to Ender’s Game.  Less action based, more spiritual and a good concept in the ideas of alien biology and culture. Didn’t think I would enjoy it as much as I did. it is a slow book, but it is very interesting. A xenobiologist (a biologist who studies aliens) is studying a new species of alien called “Piggies.” What goes on from that? I can not say. It reminds me of Fuzzy Nation.

 

Happy reading!

 

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Kristin McFarland

     /  July 1, 2012

    I just realized I haven’t updated GoodReads in like a month. Grr…

    Reply

Leave a comment